logo
CONTACT
DONATE
ENROLL
headstart1
Childhood Development Sites
Let us accept the child in our midst as our greatest wealth and our highest responsibility.

JANE ADDAMS,
co-founder of the
Mary Crane Center

2017-03-13T11:54:16+00:00

JANE ADDAMS,
co-founder of the
Mary Crane Center

Let us accept the child in our midst as our greatest wealth and our highest responsibility.
Contact Info
Administration Office
  • 4006 W Lake St, Chicago, IL 60624
  • +1 (773) 242-2860
  • info@marycrane.org

Where It All Began

In 1908, Jane Addams started the Mary Crane Day Nursery at Hull House, after receiving a donation of a building from Richard Teller Crane in memory of his late wife.

Hull House turned the Day Nursery over to the National College of Education in 1925, and Jane Addams joined with Edna Dean Baker, president of the College, to pioneer a new way of thinking about early childhood education. Their shared knowledge and firsthand experience of working with children and families was groundbreaking in the efforts to prepare young underprivileged children for success.

Originally assisting children of poor immigrants on Chicago’s near West Side, the Center moved north to the Julia C. Lathrop Homes in 1963. In keeping with the spirit of its inception, the Mary Crane Center continues to serve communities in need and has added sites in Rogers Park, Austin and West Garfield Park over the past several years. The Mary Crane Center has launched the lives of over 15,000 children and families.

Partners & Archdiocese Sites

Little Kids Village

2656 W 71st St
Chicago, IL 60629
p 773.776.4753
f 773.776.8013
Sherri Thompson
Chief Executive Officer
ourvillage@sbcglobal.net

Little Acheivers

3801 W Diversey Ave
Chicago, IL 60647
p 773.632.8249
f 773.276.1600
Sharla Thompson
Site Director
sharla_thompson@sbcglobal.net

Saint Sabina

7801 S. Throop
Chicago, IL 60620
p 773.483.5000
Helen Dumas
Principal
dumasha@aol.com

Saint Ethelreda

1026 W. Buena
Chicago, IL 60613
p 773.238.1757
Denise Spells
Principal
dspells@stethelreda.org

Saint Nicholas of Tolentine

3721 W. 62nd St.
Chicago, IL 60629
p 773.735.1121
Mary Agnes Menden
Principal
m.menden@mymail.sxu.edu

Saint Mary of the Lake

1026 W Buena
Chicago, IL 60613
p 773.281.0019
Cristina Boyd
Principal
cb60613@gmail.com

Administration

Mary Ruth Coffey
Executive Director
mrcoffey@marycrane.org

Robert Bryant
Director of Education/Interim Program Manager
rbryant@marycrane.org

Wanda Ho
Director of Finance & Operations
who@marycrane.org
773.242.2861

Beth Rivera
Human Resources
brivera@marycrane.org
Fax: (773) 242-2881

 

Site Directors

Kathy Pesek
Morse/Rogers Park
kpesek@marycrane.org
773.262.1390

Kisonnah Williams
Lathrop/Northwest
kwilliams@marycrane.org
773.938.8131

Traci Delgado
Lake & Pulaski/West Garfield Park
tdelgado@marycrane.org

773.265.5954

Mary A. Barron
Molade/Austin

mbarron@marycrane.org
773.287.7365

Katherine Kretzmann
Home Base Coordinator
kkretzmann@marycrane.org
773.242.2868

Lisa Penny
Partner Director
lpenny@marycrane.org
312-719-8868

Board of Directors

Stephen Wysham
President and Chair

Brian Slocum
V.P. Resource Development Chair

Marilyn Brink
V.P. Program Committee Chair

Elizabeth Anderson
Treasurer

Margaret (Peg) Dowling

Secretary

Deborah J. Hodges
Marketing & Communications Chair

Reina Rebollar‐Gonzalez
Parent Chair

Board Members

Kevin Cloutier

Margaret (Peg) Griffiths

Sophia Robertson

Neeta Rochlani

Mikela T. Sutrina

Mary Slocum

Leah Zeller-Talmers

Jeanne Zasadil